Prix d’excellence en droit immobilier de l’ABO

2024 Award Recipient

Merredith MacLennan

Merredith MacLennan
Merovitz Potechin LLP

The OBA’s Real Property Law Section is pleased to announce Merredith MacLennan as the recipient of the 2024 OBA Award of Excellence in Real Estate.

The award presentation details will be announced separately. Stay tuned with us.


About the Award

The Award of Excellence in Real Estate was created to recognize exceptional contributions and/or achievements in real estate law by members of the OBA.


  • Teaching of real estate law;
  • Development of real estate law including lecturing, scholarly writing and lobbying;
  • Enhancement of the practice of real estate law;
  • and leadership in the real estate bar, the government, the Law Society of Ontario and OBA in relation to real estate issues, real estate legislation and the operation of the Land Registration System.


A nominee must be a member in good standing of the CBA/OBA. Current members of the Real Property section executive or the OBA Board of Directors are not eligible for nomination. Nominators must be members in good standing of the CBA/OBA. 


The award is presented annually at an event held on a date in the Spring as determined by the Section Executive. This year it will be on June 19, 2024 at the Spring Mix CPD program. Please bookmark your calendar and stay tuned.

Selection Process

The Nomination Committee will review the nominations and recommend a candidate to the Real Property Section Executive. The number of awards to be presented annually will not normally exceed one.

The Selection Committee shall consider OBA policies, rules and guidelines on Diversity and Inclusion when selecting the winner of the Award.

Additional Information

Peter Guennel
Section Executive Liaison
(800) 668-8900 or (416) 869-1047 x 340

Past Winners

Past recipient of the Award for Excellence in Real Estate include:

  • 2023 - Award not presented
  • 2022 - Raymond G. Leclair
  • 2021 - Leor Margulies
  • 2020 - Bram Potechin, Ottawa
  • 2019 - Steven I. Pearlstein, Toronto
  • 2018 - Caterina Galati, Toronto
  • 2017 - Jerry B. Udell, Windsor
  • 2016 - Kathleen A. Waters, Toronto
  • 2015 - Donald V. Thomson, Toronto
  • 2014 - Lisa A Borsook, Toronto
  • 2013 - Maurizio Romanin, Toronto
  • 2012 - A. Edwin Honeywell, Ottawa
  • 2012 - James (Kim) H. Little, London
  • 2011 - Bradley McLellan, Toronto
  • 2010 - Kate Murray, Toronto
  • 2009 - Jeff Lem and Mark Freedman, Toronto
  • 2008 - Audrey Loeb, Toronto
  • 2007 - Harry Herskowitz, Toronto
  • 2006 - Laird J Rasmussen, Ottawa
  • 2005 - Miriam A. Kelly, K.C., Toronto
  • 2004 - The Honourable Paul M. Perell, Toronto
  • 2003 - Garth Manning, K.C., Toronto
  • 2002 - Craig R. Carter, Toronto
  • 2001 - Albert A. Strauss K.C., Toronto
  • 2000 - Sidney H. Troister K.C., Toronto
  • 1999 - The Honourable Hilda McKinlay, Toronto
  • 1998 - Brian D. Bucknall, Toronto
  • 1997 - Donald H. Lamont, Toronto
  • 1996 - Reuben M. Rosenblatt, K.C.,  Toronto