Get to Know Your Execs in Five Minutes (or less) – Part IV

  • February 24, 2020

In this ongoing series, we will profile each of the members of the OBA IP/ IT Law Section Executives to learn about them in five minutes or less. It’s five minutes or less because we know that a lot of you docket in six minute increments!


Name: Daniel Daniele

Position: Past Chair

Who is Daniel Daniele? Hi everyone! I’m your past chair on the OBA IP/IT Law Section. I’m also an intellectual property partner at Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP in Toronto.  I practice mainly pharmaceutical patent litigating with some trade-mark, copyright, and regulatory expertise. Prior to joining the firm, I completed a judicial clerkship at the Court of Appeal for Ontario.

Why did you choose IP/IT and what would you tell a young lawyer entering the IT/IP field? I have an undergraduate degree in biomedical engineering from the University of Toronto. When I started law school, everyone just assumed that I was going to become an IP lawyer given my background. At first, I tried to resist enjoying IP classes because I did not want to pigeon-hole myself in one area of law without first having explored all other areas. That said, once I started taking IP classes and learning more about patents, trade-marks, and copyright, I began to fall in love with this area of law. I then went on to complete my judicial clerkship at the Court of Appeal for Ontario. Since the Court of Appeal rarely hears any IP matters, I was immersed in all other areas of law during my clerkship. This made me realize that I was really missing IP law and was the impetus for me seeking out and obtaining my current employment at Norton Rose.

My advice to students and young lawyers is to get as much practical experience as you can when you are in school and junior in the practice. Try different areas of law to see which areas suits your skills and interests best. Practice mooting. Work hard, play hard.

What does the “regular, non-lawyer” you, like to do?  When I’m not being a lawyer, I am enjoying life in my apartment in downtown Toronto, exploring new cities, finding new shows to keep me busy, and generally hanging out with family and friends.