OBA Announces 2020-2021 Board of Directors

  • June 30, 2020

Ranjan Agarwal Elected 2nd VP; First South Asian Lawyer to Hold Position

TORONTO – Following the close of the election today, the Ontario Bar Association (OBA) is pleased to announce its 2020-2021 Board of Directors. With the combination of experience and new perspectives, the board is ideally suited to continue supporting the profession through the current crisis and into the future.

Ranjan Agarwal, of Bennett Jones, was elected to serve as 2nd vice-president, and he will assume the presidency on September 1, 2022. He will be the first South Asian lawyer to hold the position since the OBA was founded in 1907.

All board members for the 2020-2021 term will assume their positions on September 1, 2020.


2020-2021 OBA Board of Directors


President: Charlene Theodore

Vice-President: Karen Perron

2nd Vice-President: Ranjan Agarwal

Treasurer: Jeffrey Percival

Immediate Past-President: Colin Stevenson

Secretary: Kelly McDermott

Chair of Professional Development: Wade Poziomka

Chair of Sections: Adrian Ishak

Regional Director – Central East: Derek Friend

Regional Director – Central West: Kiran Gill

Regional Director – Central South: Erica Lamont

Regional Director – East: Craig Stehr

Regional Director – Northeast: Trevor Kestle

Regional Director – Northwest: Kathleen Commisso

Regional Director – Southwest: Doug Ferguson

Regional Director – Toronto: Signa Daum Shanks

Student Chair: Avechi Chimara

Young Lawyers Division – Central Chair: Selina Mamo

Young Lawyers Division – East Chair: Susana M. Lee

Young Lawyers Division – North Chair: Samuel Crowe

Young Lawyers Division – Southwest Chair: Madelaine Hofford

                                                                                          – 30 –

For more information: 

Michael Speers - Media & Communications Specialist