Pascale Daigneault new Ontario Bar Association president

  • 20 août 2013

Sarnia-area lawyer heads 17,000-member association

Sarnia-area lawyer Pascale Daigneault takes office today as the new president of the Ontario Bar Association (OBA).
Daigneault, managing partner at Fleck Law, located in Point Edward, near Sarnia, will serve a one-year term. Formerly she was the OBA’s first vice-president.

Under the OBA’s governance structure, the second vice-president is elected and then successively becomes first vice president and then president. The OBA also alternates between presidents from Toronto and the rest of Ontario in order to ensure all parts of the province have a strong voice.

Orlando Da Silva, a counsel in the Crown Law Office – Civil of the Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General, has become the OBA’s first vice-president and will become president in 2014.

Ed Upenieks, a Brampton lawyer and partner at Lawrence, Lawrence, Stevenson LLP, was elected by OBA members as second vice-president on July 11. He will become first vice president next year and OBA president in 2015.

Morris Chochla, a Toronto lawyer and partner at Forbes Chochla LLP, and the OBA’s outgoing president, remains on the board as the immediate past president.

The new OBA president and board assumed office on today during the Canadian Bar Association annual conference in Saskatoon.

The OBA, a branch of the Canadian Bar Association, is the voice of the legal profession in Ontario, representing more than 17,000 lawyers, judges, law professors and law students throughout the province.

Here is the full membership of the OBA Board:

  • Pascale Daigneault, president
  • Morris Chochla, immediate past president
  • Orlando Da Silva, first vice-president
  • Ed Upenieks, second vice-president
  • Doug Downey, treasurer
  • Quinn Ross, secretary
  • Mark Berlin, director-at-large – east region
  • Dawn Melville, director-at-large – southwest region
  • Marek Malicki, director-at-large, membership chair
  • Avi Joseph, director-at-large, central east region
  • Glenn Sandberg, director-at-large, northeast region
  • David Elliot, director-at-large, central south region, public affairs chair
  • Sam Bachinski, director-at-large, northwest region
  • Michael Kealy, director-at-large, Toronto
  • Audrey Ramsay, professional development chair
  • Jonathan Richardson, Young Lawyers Division chair – east region
  • Omar Ha-Redeye, Young Lawyers Division co-chair – central region
  • Christine Jackson, Young Lawyers Division co-chair – central regional
  • Sarah Kirshin, Young Lawyers Division co-chair – southwest regional
  • Blake Jones, Student Division chair


Greg Crone
(416) 869-1047 ext. 364