OBA Award for Excellence in Elder Law

2024 Award Recipient

udith A. WahlJudith A. Wahl
Advocacy Centre for the Elderly

The OBA’s Elder Law Section is honoured to announce Judith A. Wahl as the recipient of the 2024 OBA Award for Excellence in Elder Law.

We will have a tribute to Judith’s life and extensive contribution to this practice area at the Elder Law Day luncheon on June 20, 2024 at OBA Conference Centre in Toronto.

Register for the Event

The OBA Award for Excellence in Elder Law was created to recognize outstanding members of the Ontario Bar Association for their exceptional achievements, distinguished service, and significant contributions in serving elderly Ontarians through law and legal services in one or more of the following areas:

  • Development of the law as it pertains to elderly Ontarians, through advocacy, teaching, writing, speaking, or legislative reform;
  • Leadership in enhancing the practice of law as it pertains to elderly Ontarians, including mentoring, volunteering and pro-bono work;
  • Maintaining the highest standards of professional competence, integrity, and civility; and
  • Commitment to the community at large.


Nominees must be a current OBA member in good standing, excluding current members of the OBA Elder Law Section Executive (the “Executive”).


The award will be presented at an OBA event.

The Executive may elect not to solicit nominations in a given year, and/or not to present the Award in a given year. It is anticipated that the Award will be presented every other year.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations shall be solicited as follows: by a request for nominations by way of email sent to all current members of the OBA and posted to the section awards page of the OBA website. 

An OBA member in good standing is eligible to nominate a candidate by submission in writing outlining the nominee’s qualifications and achievements, together with a curriculum vitae. Maximum 2 other supporting letters are encouraged, but not mandatory. The nominator must indicate that the candidate has been advised of the nomination prior to the nomination deadline and consents thereto. Nominations are to be made by submitting the required documents using the online form.

Nominations from across Ontario are welcome.

Selection Process

The award recipient is selected by the Executive which is assisted in its deliberations by an Award Committee comprised of the Past Chair and two other members of the Executive (who shall be selected by the Executive). Up to two additional individuals, who are the past recipients of the Award, may serve on the Award Committee with the consent of the Executive Chair. With the exception of the Past Chair, no member of the Award Committee shall serve on the Committee consecutively for more than two awards.

If any member of the Award Committee practices at the same firm or organization as any nominees for the Award in a year, or is an immediate family member of a nominee, they shall declare a conflict and be replaced by another member of the Executive selected by the Executive Chair.

The Award Committee shall consider the nominations submitted and make a recommendation to the Executive. In addition to the Award Committee’s recommended recipient, the Executive will also receive a listing of all nominations. The Executive will determine whether an award will be granted that year, and select the award recipient.

The Award Committee shall consider OBA policies, rules, and guidelines when selecting the winner of the Award.

The number of awards to be presented annually will not exceed one.

The Award

A plaque, certificate, sculpture, or other award is presented to the recipient

Additional Information

Peter Guennel
OBA Section Executive Liaison
Ontario Bar Association
300-20 Toronto St. Toronto, ON M5C 2B8
Phone: (800) 668-8900 or (416) 869-1047 x 340
Email: pguennel@oba.org


2022 - Melissa Miller, Howie, Sacks & Henry LLP