Secondary School Mock Trials

Concours de procès simulé de l’ABO/ROEJ (PSCAR)


2021 WINNERS

Congratulations to all our OOCMT participants this year! Teachers, your hard work and organization was truly amazing to witness. Students, your dedication to university/professional-level legal issues was incredible. We especially wish to congratulate the winners of each of the four tournaments hosted this year:

  • The Halton Tournament was held on May 7 and Christ the King Secondary School was the winner. 
  • The Peel Tournament was held on March 9, 10, and 11. The Final was held on April 8 and St. Joseph Catholic Secondary School was the winner. 
  • The Toronto Tournament was held on April 27 and 28. The Final was held on April 5 and Western Technical-Commercial School was the winner. 
  • The Provincial Tournament was held on April 21 and 22. The Final was held on April 29, and Sacred Heart Catholic High School was the winner.

All tournaments were held completely over Zoom with lawyer coaches, judges, and parents and loved ones in attendance. Hopefully a one-off year, but we couldn't be more proud of everybody involved. Congratulations to all and have a restful break. See you in 2022! 


Le programme des Procès simulés compétitifs (PSCAR) ABO/ROEJ est un partenariat entre l’Association du Barreau de l’Ontario (ABO), le Réseau ontarien d’éducation juridique (ROEJ) et la Fondation de l’ABO. La plupart des tournois de procès simulés compétitifs dans la province font partie des Tournois PSCAR. Cela signifie qu’ils se servent de la cause et des règles officielles des Tournois PSCAR, et que leurs gagnants peuvent prendre part aux compétitions de plus haut niveau qu’organisent l’ABO et le ROEJ. Les écoles qui inscrivent une équipe peuvent être jumelées avec un avocat bénévole local qui agira comme entraîneur de l’équipe. Ce programme est destiné aux élèves de la 9e à la 12e année. 

Comme 2021 n’est pas une année ordinaire, l’ABO a temporairement modifié le PSCAR afin de mieux répondre aux besoins des participants et des organisateurs. Cette année, en partenariat avec le ROEJ, nous sommes heureux d’offrir le programme en deux formats afin d’offrir aux élèves, aux enseignants et aux avocats la souplesse requise pour participer. Vous trouverez des détails sur chaque format ci-dessous.

Format compétitif

Le format compétitif constituera une version en ligne d’un procès simulé traditionnel. Ce tournoi sera de nature quasi provincial : les équipes inscrites dans une région n’affronteront pas nécessairement une autre équipe de la même région.

Voici quelques renseignements :

  • Les équipes seront jumelées à des avocats entraîneurs de leur région. Même si le programme de cette année est différent, il est important de continuer de favoriser des liens locaux et une certaine cohésion régionale. Dans certains cas, des entraîneurs d’une région pourraient aider dans une autre région où moins d’avocats sont disponibles, mais le cadre local habituel s’appliquera aux procès simulés en ligne.
  • Chaque équipe aura au moins un compte de vidéoconférence afin de participer au tournoi en ligne. Selon les capacités des membres de l’équipe, leurs préférences et les directives de leur conseil scolaire en matière de sécurité, l’équipe peut se trouver dans une pièce en pratiquant la distanciation physique, ou ses membres peuvent se joindre à la visioconférence à partir de comptes distincts.
  • Le ROEJ fournira des matrices indiquant quelles équipes s’affronteront à quel moment, comme à l’habitude.
  • Le ROEJ fournira le compte Zoom et animera la rencontre pour chaque audience. Le ROEJ procédera à l’admission des participants, supervisera les réglages audio et vidéo et s’occupera de manière générale des aspects techniques de chaque audience.
  • Le ROEJ s’assurera que seuls le participant procédant à un interrogatoire, un participant opposant, le témoin, le juge et le greffier disposeront des fonctionnalités vidéo et audio en même temps. En d’autres mots, la réalité d’une salle d’audience sera reflétée virtuellement. 

Format alternatif

  • Pour éviter de créer un avantage compétitif pour des participants précis, les équipes qui prennent part au tournoi en ligne ne pourront pas participer au format alternatif ni utiliser le témoignage enregistré par les avocats pour préparer leurs propres stratégies. 
  • Le format alternatif est conçu pour offrir plus de flexibilité et d’accessibilité que le format compétitif, de quelques manières différentes.
  • Contrairement au format compétitif, le format alternatif permet aux participants de faire leur soumission individuellement, en petits groupes ou en groupe-classe. Les ressources du format alternatif seront aussi disponibles de février à la fin de l’année scolaire. 
  • Nous offrons aussi aux élèves un babillard électronique dont ils peuvent se servir pour discuter ensemble d’idées et de stratégies tout en préparant leur soumission. Dans ce babillard, un sous-forum permet de « s’informer auprès d’un expert ». Les élèves peuvent y publier des questions substantives sur leurs arguments, chercher des décisions qui soutiennent leurs arguments et obtenir des commentaires d’avocats.
  • Les participants peuvent soumettre un exposé d’ouverture s’appuyant sur les faits du scénario pour la Couronne ou pour la défense. Ils peuvent soumettre un énoncé de clôture s’appuyant sur la ressource vidéo de l’interrogatoire du témoin. Ces éléments peuvent être soumis par écrit ou en format vidéo. Si les participants optent pour des soumissions vidéo, ils n’ont pas l’obligation d’accéder à une plateforme de vidéoconférence. Nous accepterons les soumissions vidéo en formats MP4 ou .mov. 
  • Une fois les soumissions reçues, elles seront examinées par des avocats bénévoles, qui fourniront des commentaires sur les arguments des participants en s’appuyant sur leur expérience professionnelle et leur connaissance du scénario.

Échéancier des tournois locaux pour le format compétitif

Les Tournois PSCAR de procès simulés auront lieu au printemps 2021, de la fin mars à la mi-mai. Certains tournois plus importants seront tenus dans leurs régions respectives, mais un tournoi de style provincial sera organisé pour les participants des endroits où un tournoi régional ne pourra être offert.

Les dates d’inscription sont aussi fixées par les tournois locaux, et l’inscription est présentement ouverte dans la plupart des régions. Dans la plupart des cas, les inscriptions ne prendront pas fin avant février 2021. Veuillez noter que les inscriptions dans la région de Peel et dans la Ville de Toronto seront ouvertes pour une plus courte période, vu la popularité de ces tournois et leur capacité d’accueil limitée. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web du ROEJ : https://ojen.ca/fr/program/oocmt.

Publication de la cause et des documents

Cette année, aucun changement important n’a été apporté aux documents du tournoi (règlement officiel, guide du tournoi, grille d’évaluation).

Nous produisons chaque année un nouveau scénario qui est utilisé pour tous les tournois. Le scénario est d’abord fourni sous forme d’ébauche, puis les participants potentiels ont l’occasion de soumettre des questions si des clarifications sont requises ou des erreurs décelées. La version finale est généralement produite environ deux semaines après l’ébauche. Il est très rare que des modifications importantes soient apportées entre l’ébauche et la version finale.

Secondary School Mock Trials

OBA-OJEN Competitive Competitive and Alternative Mock Trials (OOCMT)

The OBA/OJEN Competitive Mock Trials (OOCMT) is a partnership between the Ontario Bar Association (OBA) and the Ontario Justice Education Network (OJEN), and the OBA Foundation.  Most competitive mock trial tournaments in the province are part of OOCMT, which means they use the official OOCMT case and rules, and their winners may participate in upper-level competitions organized by the OBA and OJEN. Schools that register a team can be matched with a local lawyer-volunteer to act as their team coach. This program can accommodate students from Grades 9 – 12. 

As 2021 is certainly not a ‘typical’ year, the OBA and OOCMT has undergone some temporary changes in order to better serve the needs of our participants and organizers. This year, in partnership with OJEN, we are pleased to offer the program in two formats to give students, teachers and lawyers the flexibility to participate. Details of each format are covered below:

The Competitive Format

The competitive format will be an online version of a traditional mock trial. It will be quasi-provincial nature, in that registered teams from one region will not necessarily compete against another team from their own region.

Here are some of the basics:

  • Teams will be matched with coaches from their regions. While this year is different in many ways, it is important to maintain the facilitation of local connections, and regional cohesion. While in some cases coaches from one region may help in another where supply is shorter, the same local-based framework as always will still apply to the online mock trials.
  • Every team will need at least one videoconferencing account in order to participate in their online tournament. Depending on the team’s capacity, preference, and safety guidelines from respective school boards, they may plan to be in the same room while physically distancing, or they may choose to join a call from separate accounts.
  • OJEN will provide matrices for which teams will play each other at which times, as per usual.
  • OJEN will provide the Zoom account and host the meeting for each hearing. OJEN will admit participants, oversee audio and video settings, and in general moderate the technical aspects of each hearing.
  • OJEN will ensure only the participant conducting an examination, one opposing participant, the witness, the judge, and the clerk have video and audio functionality at once. In other words, the reality of real court will be reflected virtually. 

The Alternative Format

  • In order to avoid creating a competitive advantage for any participants, teams involved in the online tournament will be precluded from participating in the alternative format, or from using the testimony recorded by lawyers to prepare their own strategies. 
  • The alternative format is designed to be more flexible and accessible than the competitive format in a few different ways.
  • In contrast to the competitive format, delivering the alternative format allows participants to submit as individuals, as small groups, or as a whole class. The resources for the alternative format will also be available to participants from February until the end of the school year. 
  • We also offer students an online message board they can use to discuss ideas and strategies with one another while they prepare their submissions. One sub-forum on these boards is an "ask-an-expert"  where they can post substantive questions about their arguments, seek cases in support of these, and receive feedback from lawyers.
  • Participants can submit an Opening Statement based on the facts of the case scenario for either Crown or Defence. They can also submit a Closing Statement based on the witness examination video resource. These can be done either in writing or by video submission. If participants choose to submit their statements by video, they do not necessarily need access to a videoconferencing platform. We will accept video submissions in MP4 or .mov video formats. 
  • Once submissions are received, they will be reviewed by lawyer volunteers, who will provide feedback on the participants’ arguments based on their professional experience and their reading of the case scenario.

Timeline for Local Tournaments for the Competitive Format

OOCMT mock trial tournaments will take place in the spring of 2021, with event dates between late March and mid-May. While some of our larger tournaments will still be held in their respective regions, a provincial-style tournament will be facilitated for participants in places where a regional tournament is not available.

Registration dates are also set by local tournaments, and registration is open in most regions at this time. In most cases, registration will not close until February 2021. Note that registration in Peel Region and the City of Toronto will have a shorter registration window due to the popularity of those tournaments and their limited capacity.  Please View OJEN website for more information http://ojen.ca/en/oocmt.

Publication of Case and Materials

No significant changes have been made to the tournament materials (Official Rules, Tournament Guide, Marking Scheme) for this year.

Every year, we produce a new case scenario, which will be used for all tournaments. The case comes out first in a draft form, with a period afterwards for prospective participants to submit questions which may require clarification, or any errors noticed. The final version is usually published about two weeks after the first draft. It is very rare for any major changes to be made to the case in the final version.