Markus Cohen, Q.C. Memorial Award - Franchise Law

About the Award

This Award was established to recognize, honour and celebrate outstanding scholarly contributions of Ontario Bar Association members to the development of franchise law on an annual basis.

The Award is named for the late Markus Cohen, Q.C. in recognition of his excellence and dedication as a lawyer practicing in the area of franchise law. Markus was an original member of the Executive of the Franchise Law Section and was the initial editor of Franchising 101 which appears on the OBA website.  Markus wrote and spoke widely about franchising law issues and was an exceptional educator and mentor.  The Award not only recognizes Markus’ contributions to franchise law but stands as a testament to the civility and dignity which were hallmarks of Markus’ practice. 


The Award is open to any Ontario Bar Association member currently or formerly practicing in the Province of Ontario in the area of franchise law, whether in the private or public sectors.


This Award recognizes outstanding scholarly contributions by an Ontario Bar Association member to the development of franchise law made in the 12 months preceding the annual deadline date for nominations or, if no Award was granted in the prior calendar year, in the period since the last Award was granted. 

Nomination procedure

The Award is available only to individuals, not law offices or other organizations or groups. The current members of the Nomination Committee, which is a committee of the Section Executive, are not eligible for nomination. Nominations are to be made either by (a) completing the online form or (b) in the discretion of the Nomination Committee, by the Nomination Committee identifying suitable candidates through its review of scholarly contributions that meet the criteria identified below. Selection of the recipient of the Award will be made by the Executive of the Franchise Law Section with the advice and recommendations of the Nomination Committee. 

Deadline for Applications

Nominations and supporting material must be submitted using the online nomination form by the submission deadline to be set each year. 

Nominations will be accepted via the online nomination from Monday, August 14th to Friday, November 10, 2023 at 5:00 p.m. 



If the Section Executive determines in its discretion that there is a suitable candidate for the Award in a given calendar year, the Award will be presented at the Annual Franchise Law Conference, usually held in November on a date to be determined by the Section Executive.

Selection Process

The Selection Committee shall consider OBA policies, rules and guidelines on Diversity and Inclusion when selecting the winner of the Award.


A special plaque will be presented to the recipient.

Additional Information

Cindy Ng
Coordinator, Sections
(800) 668-8900 or (416) 869-1047 ext. 407