The OBA Susan Hilary Davidson Memorial Award for Excellence in Health Law

About the Award

This Award was established to recognize, honour and celebrate the outstanding achievements of Ontario Bar Association members practising in the area of health law in the province of Ontario.

The Award is named for the late Susan Hilary Davidson, in recognition of her excellence and dedication as a lawyer specializing in the practice of health law. Susan was a dedicated member of the Ontario Bar Association throughout her legal career, and a leader of the Health Law Section. She actively served on the OBA Health Law Section executive, holding the offices of Chair, Past Chair and Program Coordinator. She was responsible for introducing many of her health law colleagues to the OBA as well as encouraging them to become Executive Members in the Health Law Section.

Criteria for Selection

This Award recognizes exceptional contributions and achievements by an Ontario Bar Association member practicing in the area of health law, including some or all of the following:

  1. Outstanding contributions to and membership in the OBA Health Law Section;
  2. Outstanding legal contributions to the practice of health law;
  3. Embodiment of the spirit of professionalism, volunteerism and collegiality;
  4. Outstanding contributions in the development of health law through scholarly and other writing and through public speaking on health law issues;
  5. Outstanding mentorship contributions to other lawyers through personally sharing knowledge, experience and skills;
  6. Other exemplary achievements in the area of health law;
  7. Must be a current member of the OBA


Any individual not including current Health Law Section Executive Members and the immediate Past Chair, who is an OBA member in good standing.


The award is usually presented at a designated event, the date of which is to be established on an annual basis.

Deadline for Applications

Online Nomination Form

Your completed nomination package must be received by the OBA (by any means) on or before Friday, March 23rd, 2018 - 5:00 pm


The Committee shall choose the recipient of the Award from the candidates submitted through the Nomination process.


A plaque is presented to the recipient.

Additional Information

Terrine Bird
Sections/CPD Coordinator
(800) 668-8900 or (416) 869-1047 x 339

2017 Past Award Recipient

Mary Jane DykemanMary Jane Dykeman

Dykeman & O’Brien LLP

The OBA Health Law Section is pleased to announce Mary Jane Dykeman, Partner, Dykeman & O'Brien LLP as the recipient of the 2017 OBA Susan Hilary Davidson Memorial Award for Excellence in Health Law.

Ms Dykeman was honoured at a cocktail dinner on Tuesday, June 13, 2017 at Twenty Toronto Street Conferences and Events. View details