OBA Award for Excellence in Insurance Law

  • May 23, 2018

2018 Award Recipient

Kirk BoggsC. Kirk Boggs
Lerners LLP

The OBA Insurance section Award of Excellence is pleased to announce C. Kirk Boggs as the recipient of its 2018 OBA Award of Excellence in Insurance Law.

Mr. Boggs will be honoured at an award dinner on May 29, 2018 from 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm at the Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Award Presentation Information

About the Award

In Spring of 2018, the Insurance Law Section of the OBA will present its 13th Annual Award for Excellence in Insurance Law. The OBA Award for Excellence in Insurance Law was created to recognize and thank outstanding members of the Ontario Bar Association for their exceptional achievements, distinguished service and contributions in the following areas:
•The development of insurance law through advocacy, teaching, writing or legislative reform;
•Leadership in the profession and particularly of lawyers practicing insurance law;
•Maintaining the highest standards of professional competence as well as the highest levels of honesty, integrity and civility;
•Enhancement of the profession of law and the well being of the community.


All OBA members who are practicing lawyers in Ontario but not including current officers of the Insurance Law Section Executive or the Executive of the OBA.


The award will be presented at an Awards Dinner on a date to be determined by the Section Executive.

Selection Process

The award recipient is selected by the Executive Committee of the Insurance Law section of the Ontario Bar Association, which is assisted in its deliberations by a Nomination Committee comprised of the Chair, Vice-Chair and at least three other members selected from the profession at large. (Members of the Section Executive are not eligible for the award.)

Members of the OBA are invited to nominate candidates for the Award by providing a summary of the candidate’s qualities, contributions and achievements in the field of Insurance Law under the selection criteria described above. *All eligible candidates must be an OBA member.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations shall be solicited: by a request for nominations published at least 45 days prior to the meeting in the Ontario Reports; through members of the Executive of the Insurance Law Section; and through members of the Insurance Law Bar throughout the Province of Ontario. Any member of the Insurance Law Section of OBA in good standing is eligible to nominate a candidate by submission in writing, together with a curriculum vitae outlining the nominee’s qualifications. The nominator must indicate that the candidate has been advised of the nomination prior to the nomination deadline and consents thereto.

Nominations and supporting material must be filed with the Nominations Committee of Insurance Law Section by Tuesday, February 20, 2018 prior to 5:00 pm.


A sculpture is presented to the recipient.

Additional Information

Maxine Pun
Sections/PD Co-ordinator
(800) 668-8900 or (416) 869-1047 x 405

Past Recipients

2017 Award Recipients

Donald H. Rogers, Q.C. Michael C. Birnie

Donald H. Rogers, Q.C., Rogers Partners LLP

Michael C. Birnie, Birnie Law Firm

On June 21, 2017 the OBA Award of Excellence in Insurance Law was proudly presented to Donald H. Rogers of Rogers Partners LPP at the Toronto Eaton Centre Marriott celebrating Donald’s contributions to the profession. View photos of this event

Past recipient winners of the OBA Award for Excellence in Insurance Law include:

  • 2017- Donald H. Rogers, Q.C., Toronto and Michael C. Birnie, North Bay
  • 2016- John McLeish, Toronto and Wilfrid Menninga, Kingston
  • 2015- Alfred Kwinter, Toronto and Owen Smith, New Liskeard
  • 2014- Mary Margaret Fox, Toronto and Heather J. Williams, Ottawa
  • 2013 - Bruce A. Thomas, Q.C., Toronto and Roger G. Oatley, Barrie
  • 2012 - Barry A. Percival, Q.C., Toronto and Pasquale (Pat) Santini, Ottawa
  • 2011 - Paul A. Lee, Q.C., Toronto and  James C. Simmons, Q.C., Sudbury
  • 2010 - W. Thomas McGrenere, Q.C., Toronto and Kristopher H. Knutsen, Q.C., Thunder Bay
  • 2009 - Steven Stieber, Toronto
  • 2008 - Geoffrey D. Adair, Q.C., Toronto and  John F. Evans Q.C., Hamilton
  • 2007 - Jesse T. Glass, Q.C. Toronto and Eric R. Williams, Ottawa
  • 2006 - Philippa G. Samworth, Toronto