OBA President's Award

You are invited to celebrate the achievements of some of the Ontario's brightest legal stars at the OBA Annual Awards Gala.  The Awards Gala is taking place on Wednesday, April 25, 2018 at the Omni King Edward Hotel's Vanity Fair Ballroom. Details | Registration Form

2018 Award Recipient

Canadian Cross-Border Legal Coalition



About the Award

The OBA President's Award recognizes the significant contribution of an individual Canadian or Canadian organization, which, in the view of the OBA President, has made a significant contribution to the advancement of Justice in Ontario or elsewhere. 


Any individual who is a Canadian citizen, or any organization with its primary place of business in Canada, with the exception of current OBA or CBA staff, current Members of the OBA Board, or current Members of the CBA Board of Directors. The award may not be made posthumously.


This award is discretionary and no award need be granted in any given year. No more than one award may be given in any calendar year.

Nomination Procedure

The President shall nominate candidates for this Award. The President may personally identify the names of candidates, or ask the Members of the President's Award Committee to suggest names of candidates. The OBA Officers shall constitute the President’s Award Committee.

Selection Process

The award shall be granted at the discretion of the President. The recipient, if any, will be selected by the President in his/her sole discretion, after a review of the nominations and the recommendation of the Nominating Committee. Any decision to grant the award, and the selection of the recipient, shall be made no later than December 1st of year in which the award is to be granted.


The Award may be in the form of an engraved plaque or other suitable representation reflecting a justice theme.

Additional Information 

Valerie Dallas
Executive Office Lead
(800) 668-8900 or (416) 869-1047 x 322

Past Winners

2017 Award Recipients

Sarah ClarkeSarah Clarke

Pro-Bono Counsel for the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society


Sébastien GrammondSébastien Grammond

Pro-Bono Counsel for the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society


David TaylorDavid Taylor

Pro-Bono Counsel for the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society


Anne Levesque

Pro-Bono Counsel for the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society

Past recipient winners of the OBA President's Award include:

  • 2017 - Sarah Clarke, Sébastien Grammond, David Taylor and Anne Levesque
  • 2016 - Susheel Gupta
  • 2015 - Rocco Galati
  • 2014 - The Hon. Annemarie E. Bonkalo and Association des juristes d' expression française de l'Ontario (AJEFO)
  • 2013 - The Hon. Warren K. Winkler
  • 2012 - The Hon. Patrick J. LeSage, Q.C.
  • 2011 - LEAF - Women's Legal Education and Action Fund
  • 2009/2010 - The Hon. R. Roy McMurtry, Q.C.
  • 2008 - Pro Bono Law Ontario
  • 2007 - AIDWYC - Association in Defence of the Wrongly Convicted