David Scott, Q.C. Award for Pro Bono Law


The OBA Award for Pro Bono Law was established on the advice of the OBA’s Pro Bono Sub-Committee to recognize contributions and achievements by members of the Ontario Bar Association in the practice, promotion or enhancement of, or leadership in, pro bono legal services.

One award may be given annually.


Any Member in good standing of the Ontario Bar Association is eligible for the Award, except a Member of the current OBA Board of Directors, the Pro-Bono Sub-Committee or the Awards Committee.


The award recognizes one or more of the following:

  1. the demonstration of outstanding skills in the provision of pro bono legal services;
  2. exceptional contributions to the community through the provision or pro bono legal services;
  3. facilitating or encouraging the provision of pro bono legal services through:

a)  the development and implementation of projects, procedures or opportunities in the area of pro bono legal services;

b)  advocating for legislation or policy that promotes, facilitates or encourages pro bono legal services or

c)  acting as a mentor, leader or role model to peers and young lawyers to further the provision of probono legal services


A nomination requires the signatures of three OBA Members in good standing. The Awards Committee is also interested in other contributions to the community made by the nominee.

Deadline for Applications

Nomination form

Deadline for the return of Nomination Form and supporting materials is Thursday February 15, 2024.

The Awards Committee
Atten: Valerie Dallas
Executive Office Lead
Ontario Bar Association
300-20 Toronto St.
Toronto, ON M5C 2B8
Phone: (800) 668-8900 or (416) 869-1047 x 322
Email: vdallas@oba.org
Fax: (416) 869 - 3197


Award will be present at the OBA Award Gala on June 20, 2024.


Past recipient winners of the David Scott, Q.C. Award for Pro Bono Law include

2023 - Sarah Armstrong

2022 - Janani Shanmuganathan

2021 - Michelle Henry

2019 - Erin H. Durant

2017 - C. Katie Black